Leader – What are you actually busy with? What am I busy with?

I have recently started reading the book by Jeff Duke, 3D Coach – Capturing the Heart behind the jersey. What a great read. Even though I am not very far into the book I am certainly challenged.

IMG_1800-0.PNG

The author looks at three dimensions of coaching, namely physical, emotional and spiritual. Many books and articles are written about the first two dimensions, however not much is written around the role of the coach, and the role they play in the later, spiritual dimension. It’s often something as coaches we just wish away or ignore I believe.

So far I have been challenged, even though I don’t directly coach athletes at present, to review how do I do things and how do our coaches in our system incorporate the three dimensions.

The quote excerpt below I read today and it most definitely had me thinking. Thinking about the journey each one of us are on, the journey each one of our coaches are on and more specifically how can I show the way of the journey if I have not travelled it already?

“As you begin to experience transformation, you will then be able to lead your athletes to that same place of discovery. But it’s important to remember that you can’t be a tour guide to a land where you’ve never been. You must first go on this journey.” Jeff Duke.

More so from this I am challenged on the example I am, either positive or negative, the role I play as a leader, whether I choose to be a leader or not. I am challenged on What am I actually busy with?, and how can I ensure I am setting example by my habits and walk of faith.

I penned this note today when I read the above quote …

This is very true. It challenges me to think that I am leading people, coaches, athletes on journeys and in many many ways I have not been on the road and having lived it! I need to be on that journey first and foremost!

So as I am more challenged in reading this I will try and share more.

Duke writes

The Bible calls us to be excellent, no matter what we do in life. Consider these words written by the apostle Paul: Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving(Col. 3:23- 24).

Wow what a challenge! I am challenged as a so called leader, how about you in your coaching and leadership role?

Leave a Reply

